Nursing Distinction

Student Distinctions

Nursing Student Receives CLN Peer Recognition Award

Congratulations to senior nursing student Katie Coleman who was presented with the Peer Recognition Award for SCSU at the Connecticut League for Nursing Student Day held on Wednesday, November 5, 2014, at the Aqua Turf.

7 Senior Nursing Students Awarded Paul L Jones School of Nursing Scholarships

The School of Nursing is pleased to announce that 7 senior nursing students have been awarded one of the Paul L Jones School of Nursing Scholarships. Because of the generosity of the Paul L. Jones trust, each of the following students has received a scholarship of $2,048.00 fall semester: Amanda Arcand, Jamie Fortin, Kara Hallisey, Rachel Hendersen, Fatima Kolenovic, Alison Mueller, and Kristin Whitley

Golden Key Honor Society

Four of SCSU/WCSU Ed.D students were recently inducted int the Golden Key Honor Society. It is the largest collegiate honor society in the world. Membership is by invitation only, to the top 15% of college/university sophomores, juniors, seniors and top-performing graduate students in all fields of study. Congratulations to Alicerne Gumbs, Linda Roney, Erin McMahon, and Philip Martinez.

Angela Read Receives Barnard Scholar Award

Angela Read, a 4.0 BS in Nursing student is the recipient of the prestigious Barnard Scholar Award. Read about Angela's accomplishments.

New Careers in Nursing (NCIN) 2012-2013 Essay Winner

Robert Sambat, a 2013 ACE nursing student, was chosen as a two-time essay winner by the New Careers in Nursing (NCIN) Organization. Robert is a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) scholar who graduated from the Accelerated Career Entry (ACE) program in August of 2013. Please read his October 2012 winning essay and his March 2013 winning essay.

Jennifer Durnik-Fitzgerald

Jennifer Durnik-Fitzgerald awarded Nurse Practitioner Scholarship, May 2013

New Careers in Nursing (NCIN) 2011 Essay Winner

Jonathan Cooke, a 2011 ACE student, was chosen as an essay winner by the New Careers in Nursing (NCIN) Organization. Jonathan is a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) scholar who graduated from the ACE program in August of 2011. You may read Jonathan's essay on "I believe this about nursing".

Faculty Distinctions

Dr. Barbara Aronson Earns Research Article Of The Year Award

Congratulations Dr. Barbara Aronson, Ed.D., Program Co-Coordinator, on receiving the 2013 Research Article of the Year award, with her colleagues Barbara Glynn and Tim Squires. Their article, "Effectiveness of a role modeling intervention on student nurse simulation competency," was selected by Clinical Simulation in Nursing, The International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation journal. The award was presented in June in Orlando, FL.

Professor Pomarico-Denino Inducted As An AANP Fellow

The School of Nursing would like to congratulate Professor Vanessa Pomarico-Denino, Interim Director of our FNP Program, who was recently inducted as an American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) Fellow. AANP Fellows are selected based on outstanding contributions to clinical practice, research, education or policy. Vanessa is one of 76 nurse practitioner leaders that were inducted by AANP at a ceremony held on June 19th during the AANP National Conference at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center in Nashville, Tennessee.

Dr. Madara Awarded Outstanding Teaching

Dr. Madara was presented with the 2013 J Philip Smith Outstanding Teaching Award for full-time faculty at a reception during the SCSU Teaching Academy of May 14th. She is pictured with Provost Marianne Kennedy. She will also be recognized at the upcoming Undergraduate Commencement Exercise on May 17th. Congratulations to Dr. Madara!

Alumni Distinctions

Nursing Alumni Selected As Faanp Members

Two alumni of the School of Nursing at Southern Connecticut State University, Kathryn Jack and Elizabeth Visone, have recently been selected as Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP). These nurse practitioner leaders are two of 88 that will be inducted at the AANP 2016 National Conference in San Antonio, Texas on June 23rd. The new FAANP members will continue the tradition of impacting national and global health through their outstanding contributions.

The FAANP program was established in 2000 to recognize nurse practitioner leaders who have made outstanding contributions to health care through clinical practice, research, education or policy. Fellows of AANP are visionaries and, as such, hold an annual think tank to strategize about the future of nurse practitioners and health care. The new Fellows will continue to demonstrate leadership and contribute to the mission of AANP.

Kathryn Jack, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC, graduated from SCSU in 2000 with a Master of Science in Nursing degree. In her role as a family nurse practitioner at Connecticut GI, she provides a broad spectrum of care pertaining to general gastroenterology issues and urgent care, and is the sole provider in the practice who treats chronic Hepatitis C patients. Her role also includes acting as a preceptor for Southern Connecticut State University and Quinnipiac University students as well as a guest lecturer at SCSU. Ms Jack serves on the Board of Directors of the Connecticut division of the American Liver Foundation, has served as the first APRN in the role of the Associate Medical Advisory Chairman, American Liver Foundation, CT Division, and is a member of the American Gastroenterological Association, American Association of Study of Liver Disease and the Connecticut Advanced Practice Registered Nurses Society. Among her awards is the 2013 “American Association of Nurse Practitioner State Award for Excellence.” Ms Jack has also served as faculty for MedScape/WebMD and has done presentations on Chronic Hepatitis C. She has also been a primary investigator in clinical trials for HCV and Inflammatory Bowel Disease, and continues to present on liver-related topics, including HCV, both locally and nationally.

Liz Visone has over 40 years of nursing experience in various settings. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Southern Connecticut State University, a Masters’ degree in nursing and APRN certificate from University of Connecticut, and a Doctorate of Nursing Practice from University of Massachusetts Amherst. She currently provides primary care to patients in an internal medicine office in South Windsor, CT. She is the owner of CT NP HealthCare providing APRN services to a local skilled nursing facility. She serves as an adjunct professor at Southern Connecticut State University. She serves as a preceptor for APRN students for the past 10 years. She is a participant on the Department of Public Health Task Force for MOLST as well as the Educational Liaison for the Windham Pilot Program and Member of Connecticut Coalition to Improve End of Life Care. Dr. Visone is the current President of Connecticut Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Society.

Beret Ravenscroft

Beret Ravenscroft, SCSU ACE Alumni 2012, was recently highlighted by the New Careers in Nursing Program. Beret has recently begun her PhD studies at The University of New Mexico with a focus on health care policy. Please read the article.