ILS Faculty and Staff

Department Office

Kim, Hak Joon
Professor and Chairperson
Email: kimh1@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.5703
Office: BU 216

Opalenik, Kay
Secretary
Email: opalenikk1@southernct.edu
Office: BU 215A

Phone: 203.392.5781
Fax: 203.392.5780

Dean's Office

Stephen J. Hegedus, Dean, College of Education
B.Sc., University of Southampton, England; Ph.D., University of Southampton, England

Marie Nabbout-Cheiban, Associate Dean
Ph.D., Paris Descartes University

Full-Time Faculty

Bielefield, Arlene
Associate Professor and Coordinator of the MLIS Program
Email: bielefielda1@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.5708
Office: BU 217
A.A., Hartford College for Women; B.A., Southern Connecticut State College; M.L.S., Southern Connecticut State College; J.D., University of Connecticut.

Kim, Hak Joon
Professor and Chairperson
Email: kimh1@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.5703
Office: BU 216
B.A., Chung-Ang University; M.L.S., Ph.D., Indiana University.

Liu, Yan Quan
Professor and Coordinator of the Undergraduate Program
Email: liuy1@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.5763
Office: BU 222
B.A., Peking University; M.A., St. John's College; M.L.I.S., Emporia State University; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Murtha, Helene
Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the School Library Media Specialist Program
Email: murthah1@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.8387
Office: BU 223
B.S., Fairfield University; M.A., Long Island University; Ed.D., Dowling College.

Real, Brian
Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the Internship Program
Email: realb1@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.6655
Office: BU 222
B.A., University of Maryland; M.A., Johns Hopkins University; M.L.S., Ph.D., University of Maryland.

Schofield, Cindy
Professor and Program Review Coordinator
Email: schofieldc2@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.5778
Office: BU 223
B.A., State University of New York College at Cortland; M.L.S., Pratt Institute; Ed.D., University of Bridgeport.

Sierpe, Eino
Associate Professor
Email: sierpee1@southernct.edu
Phone: 203.392.6883
Office: BU 218
B.A., Concordia University; M.L.I.S., Ph.D., McGill University.

Adjunct Faculty

Andronik, Catherine
Adjunct Faculty
Email: andronikc1@southernct.edu
B.A., Wesleyan University; M.L.S., Southern Connecticut State University; Ph.D. Candidate, Charles Sturt University.

Antonucci, Carl
Adjunct Faculty
Email: antonuccic1@southernct.edu
B.A., M.A., Providence College; M.L.I.S., Simmons College; Ph.D., Providence College.

De Abreu, Belinha
Adjunct Faculty
Email: deabreub1@southernct.edu
B.A., Rhode Island College; M.L.S., Southern Connecticut State University; Media Literacy Certificate, Appalachian State University; Educational Leadership, Sacred Heart University; Ph.D., University of Connecticut.

Luhtala, Michelle
Adjunct Faculty
Email: luhtalam1@southernct.edu
B.A., New York University; M.L.S., Southern Connecticut State University.

Minichiello, Mary Ellen
Adjunct Faculty
Email: minichiellm1@southernct.edu
B.A., University of Massachusetts, Amherst; M.A., Middlebury College; Sixth Year Diploma in Educational Foundations, Southern Connecticut State University; ACES ARC Library Media Specialists Program.

Pellegrino, Janice 

Adjunct Faculty
Email: pellegrinoj1@southernct.edu

B.A., Connecticut College; M.P., University of Virginia; M.L.S., Southern Connecticut State University.

Van Leer, Jeri
Adjunct Faculty
Email: vanleerj1@southernct.edu
B.S., M.L.S., Southern Connecticut State University; Sixth Year Diploma in Administration & Supervision, Southern Connecticut State University.

 

 

 

Last updated: July 26, 2021