The History Department offers students a comprehensive curriculum that focuses on a deep understanding of the myriad forces creating our modern world.

Student

 

Fall 2020 Office Hours

    Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Available Via
Stephen Amerman amermans1@southernct.edu 1:10 - 3 - 1:10 - 2:30 - 1:10 - 3 Zoom (request only)
Polly Beals bealsp1@southernct.edu 10-11 12-3 3:15 - 4:15 - - WebEx
Siobhan Carter-David carterdavis1@southernct.edu - 11-12 6p-8p 8:30 - 10:30 - Zoom
Nikolaos Chrissidis chrissidisn1@southernct.edu 8:30 - 9:15 12:30 - 1 8:30 - 9:15 - - WebEx (request only)
3:30 - 5 3:30 - 5
Carmen Coury couryc1@southernct.edu - 12:30 - 1:40 8 - 9:10 9:35 - 12:15 - WebEx (request only)
Kelly Falvey falveyk1@southernct.edu - unavailable 11 - 12:30 unavailable - Zoom
Robert Forbes forbesr3@southernct.edu 2 - 4         email
Steven Judd judds1@southernct.edu 10-12 - 10-12 - 10-11 campus, EN C 219 B
Darcy Kern kernd2@southernct.edu 8-9 - 8-9 - 8-9 campus, EN C 209 D Zoom (request only)
12-2
Julian Madison madisonj1@southernct.edu - 5-7 5-7 5-7 - email
Marie Basile McDaniel mcdanielm4@southernct.edu - 11:20 - 1 11:20 - 1 11:20 - 1 - Webex
Virginia Metaxas metaxasv1@southernct.edu by appointment Collaborate Ultra, email
Byron Nakamura nakamurab1@southernct.edu Sabbatical -
Lisa Nakamura nakamural1@southernct.edu - 9:30 - 10:30 - 9:30 - 10:30 - campus, EN D233
Troy Paddock paddockt1@southernct.edu 1-2:30 - - 10-12 1-2:30 Zoom
Christine Petto pettoc1@southernct.edu Remote Remote Remote Remote Remote email
Thomas Radice radicet1@southernct.edu - 11-1 11-12 11-1 - WebEx
Sarah Roe roes1@southernct.edu - 9-11 - 9-11 11-12 Zoom
Troy Rondinone rondinonet1@southernct.edu 9-10 - 9-10 - 9-12 email
Jason Smith smith.jason@southernct.edu 10-1 - 10-11 - 10-11 Zoom
Michele Thompson thompsonc2@southernct.edu - 3:10 - 4:20 2:40 - 4:50 3:10 - 4:50 - on campus, in classroom after class
Connor Williams williamsc72@southernct.edu 3 - 5   2:30 - 3:30   3 - 5 Zoom (request only)

A Note from the Chair

I did not come to the study of history as an undergraduate, but only found my way to the discipline through my graduate studies in the history of science and ultimately in my doctoral research in early modern European history and, in particular, the history of French cartography.  I always found myself drawn to the broader study of history because it helped to contextualize the work of the 'scientists' I was studying or to understand the society in which these men and women were conducting their research.

Events whether local, national, or international, and the subsequent reactions, or even those controversies whether genuine or fabricated find their way into an historical record.  Written reports, literary works, official documents, and personal recordings are all of a time, a period, and a place.  One might ask what happened, who did it, when did it occur, but as historians we really seek to understand the why or how of it.  Moreover, we recognize that our understanding of the past is not fixed but that over time we ask new questions, we look from different vantage points, and we seek a more encompassing appreciation of the actors and reactors in the events we study.  Everything (everyone) has a history whose significance is fortunately not directly proportional to the number of tweets about it but is awaiting the research of a future historian to uncover the story, present it anew, delve deeper, or reshape the discourse. 

Won't you join us? 

- Dr. Christine M. Petto, Department Chairperson 

Southern Connecticut State University
History Department

Engleman Hall C 205
501 Crescent Street
New Haven, CT 06515
phone: (203) 392-5600
fax: (203) 392-8835
Position Name Phone

Department Chairperson

Christine Petto

(203) 392-5601
(203) 392-5612

Department Secretary

Jacqueline Isabella

(203) 392-5600
(203) 392-5718

Graduate Coordinator

Siobhan Carter-David

(203) 392-5858

Certification Coordinator

Kelly Falvey

(203) 392-5600