## Southern Connecticut State University FACULTY SENATE

## UNAPPROVED MINUTES OF MAY 8, 2023

https://inside.southernct.edu/faculty-senate/meetings

The 16<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Faculty Senate AY 2022-2023 was held on May 8, 2023, at 12:10 p.m. via Zoom.

FIRST	LAST	DEPARTMENT	TERM ENDS (SPRING)	ATTENDANCE	TOTAL 16
Lisa	Haylon	Accounting	2025	×	10
Kenneth	McGill	Anthropology	2023	✓	11
Melanie	Uribe	Art & Design	2024	✓	16
Kevin	Siedlecki	Athletics	2023	×	7
Elizabeth	Roberts	Biology & Biochemistry	2023	~	16
Kate	Toskin	Business Information Systems	2025	✓	15
Jeff	Webb	Chemistry	2023	✓	15
Richard	Zipoli	Communication Disorders	2024	✓	13
Melanie	Savelli	Communication, Media & Screen Studies	2025	✓	15
Shafaeat	Hossain	Computer Science	2025	×	15
Matthew	Ouimet	Counseling	2024	~	16
VACANT		Counseling & School Psychology	2023		
Helen	Marx	Curriculum & Learning	2024	✓	14
Maria	Diamantis	Curriculum & Learning	2024	✓	12
Dushmantha	Jayawickreme	Earth Science	2025	✓	16
Jia	Yu	Economics	2024	✓	15
Peter	Madonia	Educational Leadership & Policy Studies	2023	×	10
Paul	Petrie	English	2023	×	15
Mike	Shea	English	2024	✓	15
Miriah	Kelly	Environment, Geography, & Marine Sciences	2025	✓	14
Sandip	Dutta	Finance & Real Estate	2025	✓	11
Kyle	O'Brien	Healthcare Systems & Innovation	2025	✓	15
Robert	Knipe	Health & Movement Sciences	2025	✓	15
Daniel	Swartz	Health & Movement Sciences	2025	~	15
Carmen	Coury	History	2023	~	16
Troy	Paddock	History	2023	~	14
Yan	Liu	Information & Library Sciences	2024	~	7
Cindy	Simoneau	Journalism	2024	~	15
Patrick	Crowley	Library Services	2023	~	16
Amy	Jansen	Library Services	2025	~	15
Alison	Wall	Management & International Business	2025	~	15

Melvin	Prince	Marketing	2023	×	9
Sebastian	Perumbilly	Marriage & Family Therapy	2025	×	10
Klay	Kruczek	Mathematics	2025	√	16
Raymond	Mugno	Mathematics	2025	×	15
Jonathan	Irving	Music	2023	×	7
Krista	Prendergast	School of Nursing	2023	×	9
Andrea	Adimando	School of Nursing	2024	×	13
Obigaeli	Okwuka	Part-Time Faculty	2023	×	8
Virginia	Metaxas	Part-Time Faculty	2023	√	13
Michael	Sormrude	Part-Time Faculty	2024	×	15
Michele	Delucia	Part-Time Faculty	2024	√	16
Rex	Gilliland	Philosophy	2023	√	16
Elliott	Horch	Physics	2024	$\checkmark$	7
Jonathan	O'Hara	Political Science	2025	×	9
Kate	Marsland	Psychology	2025	×	14
Chris	Budnick	Psychology	2024	×	13
Jon	Nwangwu	Public Health	2024	×	11
Michael	Dodge	Recreation, Tourism, & Sport Management	2023	×	15
Carmela	Smith	Social Work	2023	×	8
Stephen	Monroe Tomczak	Social Work	2025	×	13
Gregory	Adams	Sociology	2023	✓	14
Angela	Lopez-Velasquez	Special Education	2024	×	8
Douglas	Macur	Theatre	2024	✓	15
Tricia	Lin	Women's & Gender Studies	2025	✓	15
Luke	Eilderts	World Languages & Literatures	2023	✓	15
Natalie	Starling	SCSU Faculty Senate President	2024	✓	15
Joe	Bertolino	SCSU President		×	12
Barbara	Cook	Chair, Graduate Council		✓	15
Meredith	Sinclair	Chair, Undergraduate Curriculum Form		✓	13
Pierce	Kozlowski	SGA		×	4

GUESTS

Tom Kealy Linda Cunningham The following senators are empowered by the Faculty Senate to represent the Faculty Senate and thereby represent the faculty body in their role and contributions to the respective committee/group in which shared governance of business is being conducted with a duty to report back to the Faculty Senate minimally once per semester (additional reports determined by the respective representative or upon request by the Faculty Senate). It is recommended representatives also seek the Faculty Senate's support and endorsement for matters determined by the respective representative or upon request by the Faculty Senate.

Early College Experience	Christine Broadbridge (fall) Michele DeLucia (spring)		
Faculty Development Advisory Committee (FDAC)	Klay Kruczek		
Committee on Reassigned Time	Troy Paddock		
Undergraduate Curriculum Forum (UCF) liaison	Cindy Simoneau		
University Library Committee (ULC)	2 representatives – unfilled		
Ad Hoc Committee for Non-credit, Continuing	Melanie Uribe (APC rep)		
Education & Micro-credentialing	Rex Gilliland (APC rep)		
	Alison Wall (senator)		
	<mark>1 senator (additional)– unfilled</mark>		
FASP	Krista Prendergast		
Strategic Action Plan Subcommittees			
Advancing Social Justice	Miriah Kelly		
Maintaining Academic Excellence	Kenneth McGill		
Engaging our Community	Michael Sormrude		

## May 8, 2023

Faculty Senate President Natalie Starling called the 16<sup>th</sup> meeting (Special) of the Faculty Senate to order at 12:47 p.m. via Zoom.

- I. Announcements
  - A. M. Uribe shared that the Senior Exhibition for students of Graphic Design would Graphic Design Senior Exhibition Reception would take place Tuesday May 9 from 6-8pm in the Buley Library Art Gallery.
  - B. M. Shea congratulated T. Paddock on his son's graduation from Southern.
  - C. N. Starling reminded Senators of the upcoming retreat sponsored by SCSU-AAUP and the Faculty Senate on May 24.
  - D. L. Eilderts announced the results of the meeting modality for AY 2023-2024.
    - i. Six senators voted in favor of in-person only meetings; 37 voted for virtual meetings.
    - ii. Of those who voted for virtual only meetings, 25 voted for one to two in-person meetings; 12 voted against.
      - 1. For the AY 2023-2024, the Faculty Senate will therefore hold most of its meetings online, with one to two in-person meetings. Details will be shared with senators well in advance of the start of the Fall semester.
- II. Minutes of the previous meeting held on May 3, 2023, were accepted as amended. <u>https://inside.southernct.edu/faculty-senate/meetings</u>
- III.
   Faculty Senate President's Report

   <a href="https://inside.southernct.edu/faculty-senate/meetings">https://inside.southernct.edu/faculty-senate/meetings</a>
  - A. No report for this meeting.
  - B. N. Starling shared that L. Eilderts would continue as Faculty Senate Secretary for AY 2023-2024.
- IV. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees
  - A. Standing committees did not meet.
  - B. APC (M. Uribe): Shared additional updates on the university bookstore; however, not all details are known at this time and will not be known until the contract is finalized.
  - C. Finance (C. Simoneau): Please look at the announcement from the BOR Finance committee regarding the numbers on mitigation in light of the legislature's proposed appropriation. Faculty Travel clarification: travel before the start of the next academic year falls on the current year's travel budget.
  - D. Elections (K. Kruczek): Shared that the faculty who have been elected in the second round have been notified and that a university-wide announcement would be forthcoming.
- V. Reports of the Faculty Senate Special Committees
  - A. Reports received from UCF and Grad Council.
  - B. UCF (M. Sinclair): Shared that the UCF passed the assessment plan for general education; the conversation around the writing director is ongoing; UCF voted down the proposal to change CTR 300 to BUS 300.
- VI. Unfinished Business
  - A. The body took up the Resolution Regarding Resolution Regarding Adding Secondary File on Digital Evaluation to Promotion and Tenure Procedures and Renewal Procedures.
  - B. M. Shea moved to recommit the resolution to the Academic Policy Committee. Seconded.
    - i. Hearing no objection, the motion to recommit was approved by unanimous consent.

## VII. Adjournment

- A. T. Paddock moved to adjourn. Seconded.
  - i. The meeting adjourned at 1:22 p.m.

L. Eilderts Secretary