## Approved Minutes of October 2, 2019

https://inside.southernct.edu/faculty-senate/minutes/2019-2020

The 3<sup>rd</sup> meeting of the Faculty Senate AY 2019-2020 was held on October 2, 2019 at 12:10 p.m. in the Seminar Room of Connecticut Hall.

|   |  | Attendanc   |   |   |  |
|---|--|---|---|---|--|
| Dave Allen<br>Accounting<br>2/3                                     | Matthew Ouimet<br>Counseling<br>3/3  | Sandip Dutta<br><i>Finance</i><br>2/3   | Robert Forbus<br>Marketing<br>1/3                     | David Pettigrew<br>Philosophy<br>2/3                              | Angela Lopez-<br>Velasquez<br>Special Education<br>3/3     |
| William Farley*<br>Anthropology<br>2/3                              | Natalie Starling<br>Counseling & School<br>Psychology<br>3/3                 | Peter Latchman<br>Health & Movement<br>Sciences<br>2/3                              | Joe Fields<br><i>Mathematics</i><br>3/3               | Binlin Wu<br>Physics<br>2/3                                       | Douglas Macur*<br><i>Theatre</i><br>2/3                    |
| Jeff Slomba<br>Art<br>3/3   | Beena Achhpal<br>Curriculum &<br>Learning<br>2/3                             | Robert Gregory<br>Health & Movement<br>Sciences<br>3/3                              | Klay Kruczek<br>Mathematics<br>3/3                    | Jon Wharton*<br>Political Science<br>2/3                          | Luke Eilderts<br>World Languages &<br>Literatures<br>3/3   |
| Kevin Siedlecki<br>Athletics<br>2/2                                 | Maria Diamantis*<br><i>Curriculum &amp;</i><br>Learning<br>2/3               | Tom Radice<br>History<br>3/3  | Jonathan Irving*<br><i>Music</i><br>0/3               | Michael Nizhnikov<br>Psychology<br>2/3                            |  |
| Sarah Crawford<br>Biology<br>2/3                                    | Dushmantha<br>Jayawickreme<br><i>Earth Science</i><br>3/3                    | Darcy Kern<br>History<br>2/3  | Frances Penny<br>Nursing<br>3/3                       | Kate Marsland<br>Psychology<br>2/3                                | Cindy Simoneau<br>Undergraduate Curriculum<br>Forum<br>3/3 |
| Mina Park<br>Business Information<br>Systems<br>3/3                 | Sanja Grubacic<br>Economics<br>3/3   | Yan Liu<br>Information &<br>Library Science<br>2/3                                  | VACANT<br>Nursing                                     | William Faraclas<br><i>Public Health</i><br>3/3                   | Cynthia O'Syllivan<br>Graduate Council<br>0/3              |
| Jeff Webb<br>Chemistry<br>3/3                                       | Peter Madonia*<br>Educational<br>Leadership<br>1/3                           | Jerry Dunklee<br>Journalism<br>3/3  | Obiageli Okwuka<br>Part-time Faculty<br>3/3           | Michael Dodge<br>Recreation, Tourism<br>& Sport Management<br>3/3 | Aidan Coleman<br>Student Government<br>Association<br>3/3  |
| Barbara Cook<br>Communication<br>Disorders<br>3/3                   | Mike Shea*<br>English<br>2/3   | Parker Fruehan<br>Library Services<br>3/3   | VACANT<br>Part-time Faculty                           | Paul Levatino<br>Social Work<br>3/3                               | Dr. Joe Bertolino<br>SCSU President                        |
| Derek Taylor<br>Communication, Media<br>& Screen Studies<br>3/3     | Paul Petrie<br>English<br>3/3  | Jacqueline Toce<br>Library Services<br>3/3  | Mary Ellen<br>Minichiello<br>Part-time Faculty<br>3/3 | Stephen Monroe<br>Tomczak<br><i>Social Work</i><br>3/3            |  |
| Mohammad T.<br>Islam*<br><i>Computer Science</i><br>1/3             | Matthew Miller<br>Environment,<br>Geography &<br>Marine Studies<br>3/3       | Carol Stewart<br>Management,<br>International Business<br>& Public Utilities<br>3/3 | Walter<br>Stutzmann<br>Part-time Faculty<br>3/3       | Greg Adams*<br>Sociology<br>2/3                                   |  |
| <u>Guests:</u><br>R. Prezant<br><i>Provost</i><br>I. Crawford<br>AA | S. Hegadus<br>Dean Education<br>Dennis Reiman<br>IT<br>Trevor Brolliar<br>IT | Olcay Yavuz<br>EDU  |   |   |  |
|   |  |   |   |   |  |

Attendance

An asterisk denotes an absence. Overall attendance recorded below each member.456

Faculty Senate President D. Weiss called meeting to order at 12:12 p.m.

I. Minutes of the previous meeting held on October 2, 2019, were accepted as corrected. <u>https://inside.southernct.edu/faculty-senate/minutes/2018-2019</u>

## II. President's Report

https://inside.southernct.edu/faculty-senate/president-reports/2019-2020

III. Standing Committees

- 1. Academic Policy (P. Petrie): Minutes received.
- 2. Elections (K. Kruczek): No minutes. Reminder: self-nominations were distributed.
- 3. Finance (W. Faraclas): Distributed the following report:

| Available Faculty Travel Funds as of: October 2, 2019 |          |           |         |  |  |  |  |
|---|----------|-----------|---------|--|--|--|--|
| Fund  | Starting | Spent/Enc | Balance |  |  |  |  |
| FT "AAUP"   | 280,704  | 40,118    | 240,586 |  |  |  |  |
| Travel  |          |           |         |  |  |  |  |
| PT "AAUP"Travel                                       | 31,190   | 11,378    | 19,812  |  |  |  |  |
| Creative Activity                                     | 85,000   | 84,836    | 164.    |  |  |  |  |

- 4. Personnel Policy (N. Starling): Minutes received. Encouraged senators with experience working with at 3+1 to contact chair of committee.
- 5. Rules (R. Gregory): Minutes received.
- 6. Student Policy (K. Marsland): Minutes received.
- 7. Technology (P. Fruehan): Minutes received.

IV. Special Committees

- 1. UCF (C. Simoneau): Presented a proposal to add an FYE representative and alternate to the UCF roster.
  - a. P. Fruehan **moved** to endorse the addition of an FYE representative and alternate to the UCF roster. **Seconded**. After a short discussion, motion **approved**.
- 2. Graduate Council: No report.
- 3. FASP (D. Pettigrew): No report. D. Pettigrew and O. Yavuz presented findings from the survey distributed by the Academic Strategic Planning Committee. A university-wide forum is scheduled for October 21, 2019, from 1-2 p.m. in EN C112.

## V. Unfinished Business

1. J. Dunklee **moved** to approve the following motion: "Faculty who were eligible to submit a paper file before AY 2019-2020, but chose to submit a digital file, will be allowed to revert to a paper file in a subsequent year if they so desire. There shall be no restrictions on these eligible faculty in the medium they choose to submit their file until the year 2024-2025 when all files are required to be submitted digitally." **Seconded**. After a short discussion, motion **approved**.

## VI. New Business

- 1. Discussion on "Resolution Regarding No Confidence Vote on Students First Plan."
  - a. Senators debated issues associated with the plan, including proposed cost savings, association with the previous Transform 2020 plan, how sister institutions' no

confidence votes included the system president and the Board of Regents, the tone of Southern's resolution, questions concerning the timing of Southern's resolution and the impact it will have, lack of shared governance, potential negative impact on academics, loss of jobs at individual campuses.

b. Senators are asked to return to their departments and discuss the will of their colleagues in supporting the resolution.

VII. Adjournment

- S. Monroe Tomczak moved to adjourn. Seconded and approved.
- Adjourned at 1:59 p.m.

L. Eilderts Secretary